100 Amazing Google Maps

In the old days, before Google Maps, I used to get lost pretty much anytime I went somewhere new. I have a lousy sense of direction, and I don’t like asking other people for directions, which is a recipe for disaster. When the Internet mapping sites came online I was saved, and even though I now have a GPS system in my car, I still use Google Maps or another mapping site almost every time I go somewhere. What’s really neat about Google Maps, however, is that people are always finding new ways to use it. Take a look at Google Maps: 100+ Best Tools And Mashups, and you’ll see what I mean. This is a list of some amazing stuff, including: a taxi fare estimator for Washington, DC; a trip planner for the London tube that also lets you search for local businesses along your route; a trip planner for public transport in Dublin, Ireland; a map of almost 15,000 wifi hotspots in the U.S.; the location of public bathrooms anywhere in the U.S.; an interactive map of locations from the Bible; and much more. People are creating new mashups of Google Maps all the time, and this is an exciting time for all those geographically challenged folks like me.
submit to reddit

Leave a Reply

